Reading Time: < 1

President Dismisses EC Chairperson And Two Deputies

Charlotte Osei

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has removed from office, the Chairperson of the Electoral Commission (EC) Mrs Charlotte Osei, and her two Deputies, Mr Amadu Sulley and Ms Georgina Opoku Amankwah.

A statement issued in Accra on Thursday by the Information ministry and signed by Mustapha Abdul-Hamid, Information Minister, said that decision followed recommendations made by the Committee set up by the Chief Justice, to investigate complaints brought against the three.

The Committee had recommended their removal based on “stated misbehaviour and incompetence, pursuant on Article 146 (1) of the Constitution”

“The provisions of Article 146 (9) of the Constitution requires the President of the Republic to act in accordance with the recommendations of the Committee.”

The President, the statement said, had directed that they handed over their schedules to the Director for Human Resource and General Services of the EC.

Some staff of the EC had petitioned the President to remove the EC Chairperson in July, last year, over claims of financial malfeasance and abuse of office.

There were also accusations and counter accusations by the Chairperson and her two Deputies and the petition was referred to the Chief Justice culminating in the setting up of a five-member committee to investigate the alleged corruption.

Source: GNA

Classic Ghana

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *