Reading Time: 2 minutes

Security Services To Embark On Nationwide Peace March On Thursday

The Security Services has set November 26, 2020, to embark on a nationwide peace march to reassure the public of its preparedness for a peaceful election.

The security services comprise the Police Service, Armed Forces, Prison Service, National Fire Service, Immigration Service, Customs Division of the Ghana Revenue Authority, National Intelligence Bureau and  the National Ambulance Service.

The National Commission for Civic Education will also join the march.

The exercise, named ‘Tafia Lafiya’ to mean peace march, is set to start from 6:00 am to 12 noon.

The security services would also use this opportunity to encourage public support for peace rally round the Ghana flag and deter potential trouble makers.

The Police Service has urged the general public to wave their miniature Ghana National Flag in support of the peace march on Thursday.

The statement also mentioned that due to the march, there would be vehicular traffic and diversions on streets of the areas earmarked. However, security personnel are expected to be deployed to manage the traffic and diversions.

This is the second time, the Ghana Police Service is embarking on a peace march ahead on the general elections.

In September this year, the police embarked on a ‘confidence-building march’. It was aimed at assuring the general public of its preparedness to maintain law and order before, during, and after the December 2020 polls.

The earmarked areas for the march have been provided below;

Route 1: Independence Square – Liberation Rd. – 37 – N1 – Weija – Kasoa – Oboom Road – Amasaman – Sowutuom – N1 – 37 Giffard Road

Route 2: Independence Square – Ako Adjei Interchange – Circle – Tesano – Achimota – Pokuase – Nsawam – Amasaman – Aburi – Frafraha – Madina – Legon

Route 3: Independence Square – Osu – La – Nungua – Lashibi – Sakumono – Community 19 – Spintex Road – Tetteh Quarshie – East Legon – Adjiriganor – Ashaley Botwe

Route 4: Independence Square – Accra Central – James Town – Agbogbloshie – Korle Bu – Saprobic – Dansoman – Kaneshie – Circle – Nima – Adabraka

Route 5: Tema areas: Mitchell Camp – Gbetsele – Afienya –Dahwenya – Tsopoli – Ningo – Prampram – Kpone – Tema – New Town – Ashaiman


Source: The Ghana Report

Classic Ghana

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.